ssossossosso
Documentation Home »Front Store Guide »My Organization Users and Roles
current version

My Organization Users and Roles

This section of the guide will provide information on how you can manage your organization users and roles, so they have the necessary level of access to the OroCommerce front store capabilities.

The frontsore user, role and permissions provide users with access to data and the ability to perform tasks based on their business responsibilities and the company guidelines. The ability to do this is crucial for both the buyer and the seller, as it helps support the various operations of their businesses. OroCommerce comes out of the box with the capabilities to allow buyers and sellers to specify the exact roles and permissions each user requires in order to do their job as efficiently as possible, eliminate mistakes and save money.

Users

To locate users:

  1. Navigate to Account in the user menu.
  2. Click Users in the menu on the left.

On the All Users page, you can view and edit the existing users, or create new ones.

The users table shows the following data:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email Address
  • Enabled
  • Confirmed
  • More Actions (View, Edit, Enable/Disable, Delete).

Within the table you have the following actions buttons available:

  1. Refresh the view table: click to update the view table.
  2. Reset the view table: click to clear view table customization and return to default settings. Reset applies to all filters, records per page and sorting changes that you have made.
  3. Table settings: click to define which columns to show in the table.
  4. Filters.

Customer User View Page

The Customer User View Page has the name of the selected user in the page header.

The page has two sections:

Create a New User

To create a new user, click +Create User on the top right of the page, next to the view table name.

A form will emerge with the following data to provide:

  • Customer
  • Enabled checkbox
  • Email Address
  • Name Prefix
  • First Name
  • Middle Name
  • Last Name
  • Name Suffix
  • Send Welcome Email checkbox
  • Birthday
  • Password
  • Confirm Password
  • Generate Password checkbox
  • Roles: administrator/buyer checkboxes

Roles

Roles are predefined sets of permissions. In the Roles section, you can view, edit and create new roles to define the level of permissions and access to the actions and data in OroCommerce front store for the users of a specific role.

To locate roles:

  1. Navigate to Account in the user menu.
  2. Click Roles in the menu on the left.

On the All Roles page you will be able to see the list of roles available in the system. By default, the following roles are predefined and available for every customer

  • Administrator
  • Buyer

The roles table shows the following data:

  • Role
  • Type (Predefined, Customizable)
  • More Actions (View, Edit, Delete)

Within the table you have the following actions buttons available:

  1. Refresh the view table: click to update the view table.
  2. Reset the view table: click to clear view table customization and return to default settings. Reset applies to all filters, records per page and sorting changes that you have made.
  3. Table settings: click to define which columns to show in the table.
  4. Filters .

Role View Page

To open a specific role: click on the selected role in the view table.

To edit a specific role from its view page: click Edit Role on the right of the page.

To delete a specific customizable role from its view page: click Delete

Note

If the role is predefined, it cannot be deleted. Neither can it be deleted if it is assigned to a user/users. Reassign the assigned users to a different role to be able to delete it.

Create a New User Role

To create a new user role, click +Create Customer User Role on the top right of the page, next to the table name.

A form will emerge with the following data to provide:

  • Customer
  • Role Title
  • Access- and permissions-related settings

The following permissions are available:

Permission Level
  • View
  • Create
  • Edit
  • Delete
  • Assign
  • None
  • Department Level (Same Level)
  • Corporate (All Levels).

With the Customer User Role you can manage the following access- and permissions-related settings and capabilities:


Field Entities Capabilities (Checkboxes)
All Address, Customer User, Customer User Address, Customer User Roles, Grid (Table) View

Account Management:

  • Audit history for Customer User
  • [Quote] Enter the shipping address manually
  • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer address book.
  • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
  • [Quote] Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book

Checkout:

  • Approve orders that exceed the allowable amount
  • Enter the billing address manually
  • Enter the shipping address manually
  • Use any billing address from the customer address book
  • Use any billing address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use any shipping address from the customer address book
  • Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use the default billing address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book.

Application:

  • Share Data View.
Account Management Address, Customer User, Customer User Address, Customer User Role, Grid View
  • Audit history for Customer User
  • [Quote] Enter the shipping address manually
  • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer address book.
  • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
  • [Quote] Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
Shopping Shopping List
Quotes Quote, Request For Quote
Checkout Checkout
  • Approve orders that exceed the allowable amount
  • Enter the billing address manually
  • Enter the shipping address manually
  • Use any billing address from the customer address book
  • Use any billing address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use any shipping address from the customer address book
  • Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use the default billing address from the customer user’s address book
  • Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
Orders Invoice, Order
System capabilities Share Data View

Note

Predefined roles cannot be edited directly. All the original data is copied so that you can save it as a new user role for your organization. All users will be moved from the original role to this new role after you click Save.

To apply a role to a specific user:

  1. Scroll down to the bottom of the Edit Role page.
  2. Enable the chackbox next to the selected user.
  3. Click Save.

Related Topics